David Charron – An introduction of our newest contributing member

My name is David Charron, and I am the newest member who will be contributing to the Bowler 2 Bowler Blog site.

I thought I would take this opportunity to tell you a little bit about myself before I start posting on the site. I am a 39 years old, have been bowling for over 30 years, right-handed, and most would consider me a Cranker. As well as being a competitive bowler for the last 20 years or so, I have also been on the Business side of bowling, working in a center as well as running a pro-shop in the early 1990’s. I am also the Founder and Tournament Manager of the Maine Scratch Tournament, which has been running Scratch Tournaments in Maine since 1999. I have also held the offices of President, Vice-President, and Secretary on numerous leagues. I have never been a member of a Local or State Association Board.

I have used a variety of Equipment, from Hammer and Brunswick in the 80’s and early 90’s, to Columbia and Lane 1 in the mid and late 90’s and now to exclusively Storm made Products since 2001. Scott Moore @ Moore’s Pro Shop has been drilling all of my Equipment for at least the last 10 years.

Being an Air Force Brat (my Father retired in 1986 after 20+ years of service to our country) I have had the opportunity to bowl all over the world. I started bowling leagues at age 7 (1976) at North Truro Air Station, in Massachusetts which is on Cape Cod, it was a little 2 Lane Center which while closed, still stands today. I started taking Bowling seriously as a teenager in Germany in 1982 & 1983 bowling all over the country on a youth Travel Team, then moved to California from 1984 thru 1986, before moving to Maine in 1986. I have called Maine my home since, and have bowled in many of the areas largest tournaments over the years including NEBA (New England Bowling Association) which runs Scratch Tournaments in MA, CT, and RI, and the USBC World Team Challenge in PA, MD, NJ, and CT.

I have many accomplishments to my resume. As a youth, I had the highest Sanction Game in Germany in my age group (12-14) in 1983 with a 277. During my first year in Maine I held the highest Youth Average at 179 during the 1986-1987 Season. As an Adult member of both the ABC and USBC I have 12 – 300 Games (First in 1991, and 4 this season), I also have had 2 – 800 Series, the highest being an 823. My highest season Average was 229.98 in 2005-2006 when I held the State Highest Average for that season. I am currently averaging 237.72 for 72 games in the Industrial League in Brunswick, which I believe is currently the State High Average for the current season.

I will post to the site on a fairly regular basis, discussing many topics from many different angles. Some of my opinions will be popular while I am sure others will be very un-popular. Whether you agree with my opinions or not, I certainly welcome your constructive comments, and opposing opinions. I thank the State Association for the opportunity to contribute to this site, and please remember the MSUSBC does not necessarily share the opinions that I Post. I hope you enjoy reading the Bowler 2 Bowler Blog.

Leave a Reply

